These Truth’s
Just another WordPress.com weblog

A few blessings from 2008

THANK YOU LORD FOR 2008

Cindy and I have much to be thankful for. This last year has been filled with both exciting times and some tough times, but we have both come away unscathed.

A few things that we are thankful for!!!

I can remember earlier this year being out of town preaching when we received a phone call that Cindy’s father was in the Hospital with a blood clot that nearly cost him his life. We thank God that he was spared and allowed to share some more of life with us. Hopefully the doctors have him on the right path so that we can share many more years together.

It was just a month or two ago that I was laying in bed asleep when Cindy woke me up and said, “Something is going on”.  Something could mean a lot of things and so I came wide awake thinking somebody was trying to break in. With my eyes wide open at this point, I realized that the whole house was filled with smoke.  I sleep with a sleep machine and Cindy said, “I think your sleep machine is getting hot”. My response was, “That isn’t my sleep machine, the whole house is filled with smoke, the house must be on fire”. I quickly jumped out of bed and went running through the house and I looked back into my office area and saw flames shooting about a foot up the wall. I paused by the kitchen sink thinking about grabbing water and then thought better of it. I went into the office area and saw some cords we had plugged in burning and I quickly yanked them out of the socket. The fire went out as I stood there holding the smoking cords in my hand. The blind string was only about 4 or 5 inches to the left of where the fire was shooting up. If it would of hit them, it would of most likely have been like a fuse that would of worked its way up straight to our curtains. Thank God all we have is a black mark on the wall and the burnt cords to remind us.

As most who read this know Cindy and I pastor the Wesleyan Church here in Salem Indiana, and I am glad to report that God has really helped the church over the last year. I have been pastor here for about 3 years and God is allowing us to see the fruit of increase in our numbers. While our altars have not been lined with people, our pews are looking more and more full. I don’t care whether or not people do their praying at public altars or at their own personal altar, as long as they do their praying.

God is also helping me more and more to hear His voice which is my prayer. I have learned for a pastor to preach and teach successfully, we must hear the voice of God.

There are plenty of things that I could thank God for over the past year, as Jeremiah said in Lamentations 3:22-23 KJV, 22 It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

Thank you Lord!!!

Happy New Year all

Steve

No Responses to “A few blessings from 2008”

Leave a Reply

